About Us

The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa (CASO) is non-profit community organization funded by the Government of Ontario, legally mandated to protect children and youth from abuse and neglect. The CAS is one of over 49 agencies across the province regulated by the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (MCCSS) and governed by the Ontario Child, Youth and Family Services Act (CYFSA).

 

OUR MISSION.

The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa is committed to protecting the children and youth of our community from abuse and neglect.We work in collaboration with community partners to ensure their well-being and to strengthen the capacity of families and the communities in which they live.

 

We accomplish our mission by adhering to these principles:

Respect

We recognize the strengths and the dignity of the children, youth, and families we serve; service delivery decisions benefit from their participation.

Service Excellence

The design and delivery of our services seek to reflect our commitment to proactive, evidence-informed, strength-based practice.

Permanent Connections

Every child and youth can achieve greater well-being through supportive relationships that are maintained across time and provide a sense of belonging within their family, extended family, and community.

Collaboration

Ensuring the safety and well-being of children and youth is a shared responsibility. Collaboration and cooperation amongst ourselves, the families we serve, caregivers, and community partners are essential.

Reconciliation

Our practices are informed by sensitivity to the historic relationship between child welfare and Aboriginal peoples. We seek understanding and reconciliation when supporting their children and youth.

Diversity

We recognize the unique quality of each child, youth, and family and use a practice framework which embraces diversity and recognizes the impact of systemic oppression on interactions with both service users and colleagues.

Appreciation

We recognize the dedication and commitment of our staff, caregivers, and volunteers. We seek to provide them with a safe and supportive work environment.

 

 

 

Video was created by York Region Children's Aid Society.

 

Diversity

The CAS recognizes the diversity of the community it serves and is committed to resolving, where possible, any barriers that limit, impede or frustrate any person's ability to access or participate effectively in its services and processes, especially when these barriers relate to an equality rights status, such as disability, age, sexual orientation or ethnicity.

Aboriginal Persons

The CAS works at providing service in a manner that recognizes First Nations, Métis and Inuit culture, heritage and traditions and the concept of the extended family.

 

Find out more about us, review our CAS Toolkit

Chez la SAEO

La Société de l'aide à l'enfance d'Ottawa (SAE) est un organisme à but non lucratif financé par le Gouvernement de l'Ontario. La SAE est l'une des 46 agences réparties à travers la province qui est réglementées par le Ministère des Services à l'enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires et elle est régie par la Loi sur les services à l'enfance, à la jeunesse et à la famille en Ontario (LSEJF).

 

NOTRE MISSION

La Société de l’aide à l’enfance d’Ottawa s’emploie à protéger les enfants et les adolescents de notre communauté contre la maltraitance et la négligence. Nous collaborons avec nos partenaires communautaires afin d’assurer leur bien-être et renforcer les capacités de la famille et du milieu où ils vivent.

 

Principes directeurs pour accomplir notre mission:

Respect

Nous reconnaissons les forces et la dignité des enfants, des jeunes et des familles auxquels nous offrons nos services; les décisions concernant la prestation de nos services sont éclairées par leur participation.

Excellence du service

Nos services sont conçus et assurés de manière à témoigner de notre engagement envers une pratique proactive, fondée sur des données et axée sur les forces.

Liens permanents

Afin d'atteindre un plus grand bien-être, chaque enfant et chaque jeune a besoin de relations de soutient qui perdurent dans le temps et qui lui transmettent un sentiment d'appartenance au sein de sa famille, de sa famille élargie et de sa collectivité.

Collaboration

La sécurité et le bien-être des enfants et jeunes sont des responsabilités partagées. La collaboration et la coopération entre nous et avec les familles, les fournisseurs de soins et les partenaires communautaires sont essentielles.

Réconciliation

Nos pratiques font preuve de sensibilité à l'égard des liens historiques entre les services de protection de l'enfance et les peuples autochtones. Compréhension et réconciliation sont au coeur de nos préoccupations quand nous cherchons à venir en aide à leurs enfants et leurs jeunes.

Diversité

Nous reconnaissons le caractère unique de chaque enfant, de chaque jeune et de chaque famille et nous utilisons un cadre de pratique ouvert à la diversité et qui reconnait l'incidence de l'oppression systémique sur les interactions tant avec les utilisateurs des services qu'avec les collègues.

Appréciation

Nous reconnaissons le dévouement et l'engagement de notre personnel, des personnes qui fournissent des soins et des bénévoles. Nous nous efforçons de leur fournir un environnement de travail sécuritaire, qui les appuie.

 

Diversité

La SAE reconnaît la diversité de la collectivité qu'elle dessert et elle s'est engagée à éliminer, lorsque possible, tout obstacle pouvant limiter, entraver ou contrecarrer la capacité d'une personne d'avoir accès aux services et aux processus, et d'y participer de façon efficace, particulièrement lorsque ces obstacles ont trait aux droits à l'égalité, tels qu'en matière d'un handicap, de l'âge, d'orientation sexuelle ou de l'ethnicité.

Personnes autochtones

La SAE vise à fournir des services d'une façon qui reconnaît la culture, l'héritage et les traditions des Premières nations, Métis et Inuits, de même que leur concept de la famille étendue.

 

Pour en savoir plus, consultez l'information ci-joint