Warning: mysqli::mysqli() [mysqli.mysqli]: Headers and client library minor version mismatch. Headers:50616 Library:50562 in /home/c00600/public_html/_includes/objects/clsDatabase.php on line 124
About Adoption :: The Children's Aid Society

About Adoption

WHO are adoptive children?

Adoptive children come from a variety of cultural, ethnic, and religious backgrounds. In most cases, these children and youth are currently living in foster homes. Most of the children waiting to be adopted have experienced challenges in their short lives and need time, patience and help to adjust to a new home. It is important that you are aware of the varied needs of the children who seek adoption to prepare you for your role as a parent.

ROLE of birth parents and first families

The Children’s Aid Society of Ottawa honours a birth parent’s’ right to be involved in decisions about their child’s permanency, and to have an ongoing role in the child’s life.  Prior to an adoption, the birth parent(s) may provide input about the kind of family they would like for their child and may in some cases even select the adoptive family with the support of the Society..

Preserving a child or youth’s relationships with birth parents, siblings, grandparents, and other significant connections are the cornerstones of openness. The modalities of openness relationships, are carefully considered early in the adoption process.  The goal of openness is to support continuity of relationships, community and culture for the adopted child or youth and this also needs to form part of the adoptive parents’ plan when considering adoption.  We are looking for adoptive families who value and will maintain these connections for the adopted child and youth.

Au sujet de l'adoption

QUI sont les enfants adoptés?

Les enfants adoptés arrivent avec un bagage de divers milieux culturels, ethniques et religieux. Dans la plupart des cas, ces enfants et jeunes vivent actuellement dans des foyers d'accueil. La plupart des enfants en attente d'adoption ont rencontré des difficultés au cours de leur courte vie et ont besoin de temps, de patience et d'aide pour s'adapter à un nouveau foyer. Il est important que vous soyez conscient des besoins variés des enfants en attente d’être adoptés afin de vous préparer à votre rôle de parent.

RÔLE des parents biologiques et des premières familles

La Société d'aide à l'enfance d'Ottawa respecte le droit d'un parent biologique de participer aux décisions concernant la permanence de son enfant et de jouer un rôle continu dans la vie de l'enfant. Avant une adoption, le ou les parents biologiques peuvent fournir des informations sur le type de famille qu'ils souhaitent pour leur enfant et peuvent même, dans certains cas, sélectionner la famille adoptive avec le soutien de la Société.

Préserver les relations d'un enfant ou d'un jeune avec ses parents biologiques, ses frères et sœurs, ses grands-parents et d'autres liens importants sont les pierres angulaires de l'adoption ouverte. Les modalités des relations ouvertes sont soigneusement étudiées dès le début du processus d'adoption. L'objectif de l'adoption ouverte est de soutenir la continuité des relations, de la communauté et de la culture pour l'enfant ou le jeune adopté. Cela doit également faire partie du plan des parents adoptifs lorsqu'ils envisagent l'adoption. Nous recherchons des familles adoptives qui apprécient et qui vont s’engager à maintenir ces liens pour l'enfant ou le jeune adopté.